Welcome to Gamemile.com!
Windows Game Reviews Mac Game Reviews Game Reviews for PDAs and Mobile Phones Online Game Reviews Daily Deal
All game reviews Puzzle/Logic| Arcade/Action| Hidden Object| Simulation/Strategy
 
Get headlines delivered to you

Game Review   2006-12-27

 

2006 - Era of Sleuthing?  

  

In 2006 gaming world was booming; and worldly wise puzzle fans seemed to have tried all possible types of puzzles. Nothing seemed to impress them. Yet this belief was shuttered by Big Fish Games studio. MCF: Huntsville

  

In the end of 2005 they released Mystery Case Files: Huntsville, which marked the beginning of new era in casual gaming: sleuthing era. That game was representative of a brand-new game genre  - detective puzzle (or clicking puzzle). Needless to say, the point of the game is to track the required number of clues hidden on the picture just by clicking them.

 

 

 

MCF: RavenhearstSince that time, Big Fish have been releasing new versions of the same puzzle concept and each time a game appears to be a hit. Let's look into Big Fish success calendar:

 

Mystery Case Files: Huntsville  - autumn 2005

Mystery Case Files: Prime Suspects - April 2006

Mystery Case Files: Ravenhearst - December 2006

 

Travelogue 360: ParisBut MСF game series was not enough for Big Fish. They used the same engine, only changed the game settings (graphics and flavor of the game), and thus, came up with two more titles that proved to be as successful.

 

The first one is Travelogue 360:Paris released in November 2006. What you get here is the same clicking puzzle. No sign of "sleuthing" here. It is all about hunting for the clues on the streets of Paris.

 

 In this game list we've missed one title released by Big Fish in July. The great thing is that this game still remains in top 10 downloads of major casual game portals:

 

Hidden Expedition: Titanic

 

The game is of MCF- Huntsville type. Legendary Titanic is found and your task is to plunge into the depths of water and to find different objects. Decks and cabins are numerous on the gigantic ship so you'll have to rummage attentively every corner.

 

 What a huge ship! Titanic was called so because of its enormous size. Legendary ship that sank in the beginning of the 20th century left many unsolved riddles. Are you ready to unriddle them?! Then off we go to the deep waters!

 

Your task is to examine a number of rooms and to find required objects in each cabin. Which is not easy at all cause a terrible wreck and dozens of underwater years set their seal on a ship...

 

So on each level you'll have to examine 3 rooms. There is a list of different objects to find in each room. The sooner you find them the better.

 

 All cabins and working premises are in terrible mess; so be attentive -you can be looking for a sticker, a simple reflection in the muddy glass or even for a silhouette on the wall.

  

To change  the scene you can move from one room to another in your search.

 

To do it go to the ‘menu' and chose another cabin there.   

 

  

Don't forget that you have only one air tank per each submersion. If you run short of air before the level is finished you'll lose. But there is a secret: a spare air tank is waiting for you in one of the rooms. If you find it you'll be able to refill your tank and to get spare time for this level.

  

We strongly recommend you to gather pearls - though they are not in your list they'll bring you bonus points.

Use mouse to play - aim an arrow at the object you found and click a left button.

  

If you found right object it will flash and rise to the surface.

 

By the way we don't recommend you to click on every random object.

  

In this case the chances to find the needed object are not very high but instead you may lose a lot of precious air.

 

 

 

***

 

So, as we see, detective puzzles have become a cutting edge genre this year. Some companies tried cloning them and thus, which led to many titles being released this year that were inspired by MCF. Here is a couple of the most popular ones:  

 

PaparazziPaparazzi In Paparazzi, you are to track and photograph cleverly hidden stuff in a celebrity's mansion in order to make money the sooner the better. Once in a while you'll have to photograph something that appears on the playfield and lingers there for a while (e.g. aliens), to get a reflex bonus. So, in contrast to MCF and Hidden Expedition: Titanic, this game is not about sleuthing, but about photographing. It features colorful graphics, and a great doze of humor in every level. Its graphics and plot is much more light and colorful. Download Paparazzi game    

 

Diamond DetectiveDiamond DetectiveDiamond Detective - a detective puzzle developed by GameHouse in the moment when sleuthing was a cutting edge game genre. As far as the game play is concerned, this is just a plain and easy matching game with the game play of Magic match. You are to form chains of diamonds on the playfield in order to get the clues for some diamond crimes. At the end of each stage you'll have to bust the criminal by solving an interesting puzzle. Download Diamond Detective      

  

  

digg it! | del.icio.us

Game Review   2006-12-27

 

Game download Game download

buy now Buy now

View Screenshots Screenshots




See related tags: Games for Windows, Hidden Expedition, Hidden object, Hide and seek, I-spy, Mystery games, Puzzle, Seek and Find


Rate this game:Current game rating: 4

3 in a row, Action, Adventure, Arcade, Board games, Brain teasers, Business simulators, Detective games, Games for kids, Games for Windows, Hidden object, Hide and seek, I-spy, Latest games, Logic games, Mac games, Match 3, Micro management, Mobile games, Mystery games, Puzzle, Seek and Find, Simulation, Strategy games, Time management


Tell your friend about this game. Just type their e-mail and press Send button:




Amber  2012-01-28 13:31:47
I have seen lots of anti-global warming videos (either by or supporting leading authorities in this area (even people high up in greenpeace dont support human-caused global warming)) and if you go back millions of years we are actually a lot colder than the earth has been, the temperature tends to go Warm, then Ice Age, than warm then ice age (note these changes happen over many years). Al Gore is just trying to get votes by pretending to care.
 

Debra  2012-01-28 23:13:22
A wonderful job. Super hepflul information.
 

Comparsa  2013-01-10 05:41:53
People! Help! Okay, not sure if anyone will aaluctly read this, but hi, I am dumb, and have no freaking clue what the password to my blog admin page is. (Yeah, seriously.) First of all, thanks for the nice comments especially good to hear from you, Claire (almost-birthday girl!!)! :DSecondly, I HAVE BEEN CAPTURED! I came to Childrens on Tuesday for an appointment (to find out the results of my scans part good, part bad :/) and they admitted me to get my pain and nausea under control. Well, I'm no longer throwing up, but somehow they managed to increase my pain?? My left leg is putting me in AGONY, gaaahhhhh, and I need to get out of here tomorrow to help with the FORCE benefit concert such a pain. Oh well. Back to falling asleep now. (actually they got me a laptop this time! hooked up to dial-up, but eh.. I'll take what I can get) All right, should probably stop writing an entry in the comments area now. Maybe I will just copy and paste later! Whee.
 

Disagree with the game review or have anything else to say about the game?
Feel free to post your comments below:
Your name:
E-mail:
Comment body:
Top 5 games
  1. Mystery Case Files: Escape from Ravenhearst
  2. Phantasmat: Mournful Loch
  3. Danse Macabre: Florentine Elegy
  4. Mystery Case Files: The Black Veil
  5. Maggie's Movies: Camera, Action!
  
Catch of the week


Add to Favorites
Editorial Archive
new item
All games
Free online games
Mobile games
Contact us
Site map
 
Game Dictionary
| Contact us | About us | Privacy Policy | Our Partners | © 2017 Gamemile.com - All Rights Reserved

This is Hidden Expedition Titanic and other detective puzzles review. Download this game here.